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Senate Bill 207 – Apprenticeship Utilization Act effective January 1, 2020
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6351/Text 

APPRENTICE VERIFICATION PROCESS 

When a Contractor and/or Subcontractor first lists an Apprentice on a Certified Payroll Report (CPR) 
they must submit documentation and verification with that CPR to substantiate that the Apprentice is 
registered with the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training of the Office of Apprenticeship, Training, 
Employer and Labor Services of the Employment and Training Administration of the United States 
Department of Labor or its successor and the State Apprenticeship Council. (Emphasis added). A 
properly enrolled and registered Apprentice is exempt from NRS 338.020 to NRS 338.090, 
inclusive. An Apprentice is paid pursuant to terms of the Apprenticeship Agreement/Standards for 
the type of work covered by the Apprenticeship Agreement/Standards as approved by the State 
Apprenticeship Council and/or Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) section 610 or Nevada Administrative 
Code (NAC) section 610. (See NRS 338.080) 

KEY POINTS OF THE APPRENTICE VERIFICATION PROCESS: 

• Contractors/Subcontractors and/or Awarding/Public Bodies will not need to obtain a new 
Apprentice Verification Form from the State Apprenticeship Council (SAC) every 60-
days. 

• Once verified with the State Apprenticeship Council, an Apprentice can work for 
multiple Contractors/Subcontractors on various PWP’s. 

• Contractors/Subcontractors are responsible for submitting the Apprentice Verification 
Forms, documentation, information with Certified Payroll Reports (CPR’s) that are 
submitted to the Awarding/Public Bodies for each PWP. 

• While not required, if an Apprenticeship Verification Form from SAC for an individual 
Apprentice is older than 1-year or the Apprentice goes to work for a new 
Contractor/Subcontractor, it is recommended that a Contractor/Subcontractor obtain a 
new Apprenticeship Verification Form from SAC to submit with the CPR’s on any PWP 
that the Apprentice may be working on. 

http://www.labor.nv.gov/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6351/Text


 

 
 

 
 

 

       
 

  
  
 

   
       

  
  

 
 
 

 

ELECTRONIC REPORTING/VERIFICATION OF APPRENTICES FOR 
CERTIFIED PAYROLL REPORTS  AND SENATE BILL  207  

The following guidance is being provided by the Labor Commissioner. 

     (1)  Contractors  and/or Subcontractors utilizing electronic Certified Payroll Reporting (CPR)   
       software, such as LCP Tracker or other software, should verify that the  Apprentice is  
       registered with the Bureau of  Apprenticeship and Training of the Office of Apprenticeship, 
       Training, Employer  and Labor Services of the Employment and Training Administration of   
       the United Sates Department of Labor or its successor  and  the State Apprenticeship  
       Council.  
(2)  The Apprentice  Verification Form from the State Apprenticeship Council along with the   
       Apprentice Certificates, documents, etc., would be the information that  is needed to  
       verify  an Apprentice pursuant to number (1)  above. 
(3)  A new Apprentice Verification Form is not required every 60 days from the SAC or if the   
       Apprentice works on a new PWP  for the same Contractor/Subcontractor.   
(4)  A new  Apprentice Verification Form, while not required, should be obtained from SAC if the  
       Apprentice starts work for a new Contractor/Subcontractor or the Apprentice Verification Form  
       is over one 1-year old.  
(5)  The Contactor/Subcontractor submits and uploads the forms/documents/information  
       verifying the Apprentice along with the CPR reporting the Apprentice into the CPR  
       payroll system or submits this information manually to the Awarding/Public Body.   

     (6)  The Awarding/Public Bodies should verify the documentation submitted by the  
            Contractor/Subcontractor verifying the apprentice and review that the CPR  was submitted       
            correctly. The Awarding/Public Bodies and/or other entities as necessary, will validate the   
            Apprentice verification/information as the database Administrator  for that project or multiple   
            projects.    
     (7)  It is up to each Contractor/Subcontractor to make sure the necessary Apprenticeship Verification  
            documents and/or forms are uploaded and submitted with the CPR’s on every PWP that the  
           Apprentice is working on. 

Contractor and/or Subcontractors utilizing electronic Certified Payroll Reporting (CPR) software, 
such as LCP Tracker or other software, should upload the documentation substantiating that the 
Apprentice is registered with the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training of the Office of 
Apprenticeship, Training, Employer and Labor Services of the Employment and Training 
Administration of the United States Department of Labor or its successor and the State 
Apprenticeship Council. The Contractor and/or Subcontractor should also upload any Apprentice 
Forms verifying the Apprentice’s registration and any expiration parameters that need to be applied 
for the Apprentice in the Certified Payroll Reporting software. 
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The Awarding/Public Bodies should verify and review /certify that the Apprentice is registered and 
that the supporting documents were electronically uploaded before a Contractor and/or Subcontractor 
can certify them on the first CPR. The Awarding/Public Bodies and/or other entities as necessary, 
will validate the Apprentice information as the database Administrator for that project or multiple 
projects. This will allow the database Administrator, typically, the Awarding/Public Bodies, to verify 
and accept the Apprentice Forms for the Apprentice/Worker in question, regardless of the number of 
projects the Apprentice/Employee may be assigned to within the database.  However, it will be up to 
each Contractor/Subcontractor to make sure the necessary Apprenticeship Verification documents 
and/or forms are uploaded and submitted with the CPR’s. 

**Once an Apprentice is verified by a Contractor/Subcontractor on a specific project, 
Contractors and/or Subcontractors and/or Awarding/Public Bodies will not need to obtain an 
additional Apprentice Verification Form within 60 days.  This is because the Apprentice Forms 
including, the Apprentice Verification Form will be loaded into the database by the Contractor 
and/or Subcontractor along with any expiration parameters. This information will then be 
reviewed and verified by the Awarding/Public Bodies and/or other entities as necessary. If the 
Apprentice changes Contractors/Subcontractors, the new employer should review the 
Apprentice Verification documents to determine if they need to request further information. 
Apprentice Verification documents and forms should be good for at least 1-year but will need 
to accompany any CPR reporting. 

This Apprentice approval process ensures an Apprentice is: 1.) Registered with the Bureau of 
Apprenticeship and Training of the Office of Apprenticeship, Training, Employer and Labor Services 
of the Employment and Training Administration of the United States Department of Labor or its 
successor and the State Apprenticeship Council; and 2.) Assists with validating Apprentice %’s for 
purposes of Senate Bill 207. 

Compliance with Senate Bill 207 (Passed during 2019 Legislative Session.) The Awarding/Public 
Bodies and Contractors or Subcontractors must ensure the reporting of Apprentices complies with 
Senate Bill 207, unless a Waiver has been granted by the Labor Commissioner. Apprentices shall be 
used and reported for at least 10 % of the total hours on vertical construction and 3 % of the total 
hours for horizontal construction of the total hours of labor worked for each apprenticed craft or type 
of work to be performed on the public work when more than three employees of each a craft are 
employed at the site of work. 

Apprenticeship Ratio: Be sure to review the apprenticeship standards to see if they provide for a ratio 
of apprentices to journeymen. It the ratio is not complied with the apprentice is to be paid at full 
journeyman rate for the type of work performed. (See NAC 338.0095). Awarding/Public Bodies may 
contact the Governor’s Office of Workforce Innovation to verify the proper apprenticeship ratio 
because, they have jurisdiction over the Nevada State Apprenticeship Council and apprenticeship 
standards/agreements and the registration of apprentices. 
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